Adventures in Manauaran Cooking

Everything is an adventure here. Grocery shopping, cooking, and eating are no exception.

There are a number of supermercados here…but as you may know from my “Manaus Moments” driving is an adventure, too…so I try to limit my time in the car. When we first moved here (End of November 2012) we were on a quest to find fresh milk. We found it once. Through months of trial and error and what felt like going to a different store every day of the week I’ve finally found a one-stop place I can usually get everything I need for a week in one go. Roma.

And when I feel like fighting for parking, walking up a hill, and struggling to order cuts and quantities of meat in Portugues and metric for my non-metric recipes, I go to the butcher shop Fino Corte.

The last time I felt like doing all of that I wanted to find something like Italian sausage to grill for an easy protein. If you put Italian sausage into Google translate, it shoots out salsicha Italiana. At the actual shop, in my broken Portuguese, I asked for that & they showed me something that looked like breakfast sausage. I mutely hand-gestured toward something that looked more like what I wanted and tried to ask if it was picante (spicy). The butcher, attempting to help me, held up the other sausages and said that they were spicy. After more gesturing, pointing, and smiling I got three links of what LOOKED like Italian sausage.

When buying such in the US, usually the casing is edible. Here, I have no idea. Furthermore, our small indoor grill is a sad attempt at a grill. This is what happened when we cooked said linguiça.

Sad, sad grill…

linguica

Is this casing edible? Why is there so much cheese? How should I cook it in the future?

cute thing

Super cute grill…I mean girl 🙂

3 thoughts on “Adventures in Manauaran Cooking

  1. I love your blog 🙂

    I remember linguica from when I worked at Round Table Pizza in highschool. Was just a sliced sausage. Weird it has so much cheese in it!
    You could try and poke a few holes or slits so they don’t explode, but the cheese will be kind of messy being heated for the long length of time it needs to cook the meat.

    Any casing that doesn’t look like a fibrous muslin or cotton is edible. (95% sure). That means it is some sort of ‘natural’ casing (gag…don’t Google, lol.), which are all edible. The only alternative I know of is a muslin or other woven fabric, which obviously is not edible, and should have a distinct appearance.

  2. Oh Hope ………….. Madelyn is surely a super super cute girl !! Did you even get the pictures of her in the christening dress? We are in Annapolis for 3 days for the services, funeral & burial of Bob’s youngest son, John Krauss, age 51, who died unexpectedly July 29. Love to all, Mimi

  3. Pingback: Lessons Learned While Riding & Driving in Manaus | adventures in the fish tank

Leave a Reply

